Skip to main content


Lesson 14 Measurements of storage

Curriculum > KS4 > Unit > Lesson

Learners will already be familiar with the terms ‘bit’, ‘nibble’, and ‘byte’. They will now learn about other types of storage capacity, and they will practise converting between units of measurement. They will also learn about the difference between storage capacities such as ‘megabyte’ and ‘mebibyte’ to help support them when performing calculations.

Learning objectives

  • Define the terms ‘bit’, ‘nibble’, ‘kilobyte’, ‘megabyte’, ‘gigabyte’, ‘terabyte’, and ‘petabyte’
  • Compare ‘kibibyte’, ‘mebibyte’, ‘gibibyte’, and ‘tebibyte’ to ‘megabyte’, ‘gigabyte’, and ‘terabyte’’
  • Convert between units of measurement

Package contents

  • Lesson plans
  • Learning graphs
  • Unit overviews
  • Activities
Log in to download

Not registered yet?

Create an account and get access to over 500 hours of free teaching resources.

GCSE revision

A comprehensive range of content and helpful practice questions are also available for this topic.

Help us make these resources better

Provide your feedback

Or email us at [email protected]